New Zealand Tour of India 2017: Schedules & Details

The New Zealand cricket team is currently on India tour and they will be playing three each of ODIs (One-Day Internationals) and twenty-20s. 

A Quick Look at New Zealand Tour of India 2017 Schedule

October 17: 1st One-Day Practice Match at CCI, Mumbai (Indian Board Presidents XI won by 30 runs)

October 19: 2nd One-Day Practice Match at CCI, Mumbai (New Zealand won by 33 runs)

October 22: First ODI at Mumbai (New Zealand won by 6 wickets)

October 25: Second ODI at Pune (India won by 6 wickets)

October 29: Third ODI at Green Park, Kanpur scheduled at 1.30 PM IST

November 1: First T20I at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi scheduled at 7.00 PM IST

November 4: Second T20I at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot scheduled at
7:00 PM IST

November 7: Third T20I at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram scheduled at 7:00 PM IST

One Day Internationals

The first ODI happened at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 22nd of October, which the guest team won by 6 wickets. It was the 200th ODI for the Indian captain Virat Kohli. By hitting a century in the 200th ODI game, he became the second player to achieve this feat. With 31 centuries in his kitty, he has moved to the second spot ahead of Ricky Ponting who has 30 centuries from ODIs. The top spot belongs to Sachin Tendulkar with 49 centuries.

The second of the series happened on 25th of October at Pune and was a day and night match. India came back strong in the second ODI after facing a defeat in the first ODI at Wankhede against New Zealand. Dynamic Duo Bhuvneshwar and Jasprit Bumrah didn’t allow New Zealand players to settle in and opener Shikhar Dhawan and batsmen Dinesh Karthik played beautiful knocks to get their team a win in a must-win match. The last of the series will take place at Green Park, Kanpur on the 29th of this month.

The first nine players of the New Zealand ODI team were named on 25 September 2017 and the remaining players were announced on 14 October 2017 along with the T20 squad.

Team India, which is also called ‘Men in Blue’, is in good form under the captainship of Virat Kohli. They have recently defeated Sri Lanka and Australia and now hope to repeat the same with New Zealand, also referred to as Kiwis.


Once the ODI series completes on 29th of October, the two teams will struggle for T-20 and the first of the 3-match series starts from 1st November at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi. The remaining two matches will take place at Rajkot and Thiruvananthapuram on 4th and 7th of November respectively.

The hosts were off-colour when they played their first ODI at Wankhede, but they bounced and gave it back hard to the Black Caps in the second ODI. The second ODI was a must-win game for the Indians as they were already one down in the three-match ODI series.

Though not many were of the opinion that New Zealand would defeat India in the very first ODI, the Kiwis managed it in an emphatic style. They were playing their first game since the Champions Trophy. The record partnership of 200-run between Tom Latham and Ross Taylor saw the guest team get better of the formidable Indian side. The century by the Indian captain could also not save the Indians from the defeat.

In the second ODI, while the Indians were under pressure to save the series, the Kiwis were high on confidence after a comprehensive win. They won the match and clinched the series. As of now, the third ODI is scheduled to happen on October 29 and the fans are waiting for it with bated breath.


Sarmad is a cricket enthusiast who loves to observe each match keenly. He is an editor and a regular contributor for Apne11. Apart from this, Sarmad loves to explore and read about Human Psychology and that is why he provides the prediction for upcoming matches too. He feels excited to share his review, prediction and feedback with sports lovers.

Sarmad has 248 posts and counting. See all posts by Sarmad

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.