IPL auction 2018 Sold Players list: All Cricketers Bought using RTM

The IPL 2018 auctions concluded on January 28, 2018, and the two-day process saw all teams exercising their player retention options. The RTM rule was changed this season, according to which teams were allowed to retain players during the auction by paying the price that was bid for them. If the teams had retained three players prior to auction, they could use the Right to Match (RTM) to retain further two players during the auction. However, if the teams only retained two players prior to auction, they could exercise RTM to retain 3 players during the auctions.

While the previous IPL seasons saw many players getting unimaginable amount of money in a span of a few hours, this season’s auction was rather constrained as many teams could exercise their retention power to retain some key players. This implied many big names, who could have easily broken the record of being the most expensive players, did not even enter the auction. The RTM cards played a key role in turning the statistics of the auction this season.

What is RTM and which players were retained using this rule?

RTM is basically a right given to all the eight teams to retain their previous players during the auction by matching the bid amount quoted for that player by any other team. For example, if Yuvraj Singh (who is actually from Kings XI) is in the auction pool and another team quotes the highest bid for him at 12 crores, the Kings XI can use their RTM card to retain Yuvraj at the price of 12 crores as quoted by the other team.

The following players were retained by their teams during the auction using the RTM:

  1. Shikhar Dhawan (SRH) – 5.2 crores

  2. Kieron Pollard (MI) – 5.4 crores

  3. Faf Du Plessis (CSK) – 1.6 crores

  4. Ajinkya Rahane (RR) – 4 crores

  5. Dwayne Bravo (CSK) – 6.4 crores

  6. David Miller (KXIP) – 3 crores

  7. Marcus Stoinis (KXIP) – 6.2 crores

  8. Mohammed Shami (DD) – 3 crores

  9. Kagiso Rabada (DD) – 4 crores

  10. Piyush Chawla (KKR) – 4.2 crores

  11. Imran Tahir (CSK) – 1 crore

  12. Rashid Khan (SRH) – 9 crores

  13. Yuzvendra Chahal (RCB) – 6 crores

  14. Kuldeep Yadav (KKR) – 5.8 crores

  15. Deepak Hooda (SRH) – 3.6 crores

  16. Krunal Pandya (MI) – 8.8 crores

  17. Pawan Negi (RCB) – 1 crores

  18. Mohit Sharma (KXIP) – 2.4 crores

  19. Dhawal Kulkarni (RR) – 75 lakhs


Sarmad is a cricket enthusiast who loves to observe each match keenly. He is an editor and a regular contributor for Apne11. Apart from this, Sarmad loves to explore and read about Human Psychology and that is why he provides the prediction for upcoming matches too. He feels excited to share his review, prediction and feedback with sports lovers.

Sarmad has 248 posts and counting. See all posts by Sarmad

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.