IPL 2018: List of All Eight Teams Captains & Their IPL History

The 2018 IPL auctions are completed and the teams have their squad in place. Excitement is slowly building up as both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are returning after a two-year suspension. Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants have been axed. So, once again there are eight teams in the IPL.

Here are the list of the eight teams and their captains. 

  1. Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings fans have something to celebrate about. The team is back after its two-year hiatus under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. It is one of the most successful teams in the IPL having won two tournaments back to back in 2010 and 2011.

  1. Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi Daredevils are one of the founding franchises of the IPL, but it has never won the tournament. Gautam Gambhir is back as the captain, Daredevil fans will be hoping that this year the team performs well.

  1. ings XI Punjab

Another founding member that has never won the IPL. In fact, King XI is considered an underachiever as the team usually has the talent, but has never performed up to its potential. This year, King XI Punjab has picked a new captain in Ravichandran Ashwin and hopes to perform well.

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders have the celebrity quotient, thanks to the owners Shahrukh Khan and Juhi Chawla. The team has a massive fan following across India and the world, and has justified the belief of its fans by winning the IPL in 2012 and 2014. This year, the captain is Dinesh Karthik and all eyes will be on him to lead the team to the playoffs and then to the finals.

  1. Mumbai Indians

With Sachin Tendulkar retired, the captaincy has fallen on Rohit Sharma. Mumbai Indians are the most successful team of the IPL, having won the tournament three times in 2013, 2015 and 2017. Sharma will be expected to help the team win back to back tournaments.

  1. Rajasthan Royals

After winning the inaugural IPL in 2008 under Shane Warne’s captaincy, Rajasthan Royals have not been able to perform up to expectations. This year, Shane Warne is the coach, but Aussie Captain Steve Smith is leading the charge.

  1. Royal Challengers Bangalore

It would not be wrong to say that Royal Challengers are perennial underachievers. So, a lot is depending on its captain, Virat Kohli, to ensure that the team not only makes it to the playoffs and finals, but also hauls the cup home.

  1. Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad have already carved a niche for themselves by winning the IPL in 2016. However, the following year, the team was unable to retain the coveted title. This year, David Warner, the current Aussie vice captain, has the mantle as the captain and is expected to lead the team at least to the playoffs.


Sarmad is a cricket enthusiast who loves to observe each match keenly. He is an editor and a regular contributor for Apne11. Apart from this, Sarmad loves to explore and read about Human Psychology and that is why he provides the prediction for upcoming matches too. He feels excited to share his review, prediction and feedback with sports lovers.

Sarmad has 248 posts and counting. See all posts by Sarmad

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.