Lionel Messi is the best player in 2019. He obtained the award at the FIFA Gala held in Milan. He beat Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo. During the event, the experts gave twelve awards in total. Annual FIFA gala has always brought a lot of emotions. So, we decided to take a closer look at all the awards.

Messi – the best player of 2019


Lionel Messi competed for the title with the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo and the Dutchman Virgil van Dijk. The Argentinean got 46 points – eight more than van Dijk and ten more than Ronaldo. That is the sixth in the career of the Argentine triumph in the FIFA plebiscite – no one has as many statuettes in his collection as he does. Earlier, the captain of Barcelona got the award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015. It is the excellent return of the modern king of football to the throne – a year ago Messi was missing in the final three.

Why was Messi chosen?


The 32-year-old became Footballer of the Year 2019, but the plebiscite took into account the period from July 16, 2018, to July 19, 2019, which is the 2018/2019 season. At that time, the Argentinean won the Spanish championship with Barcelona, ​​became the top scorer of La Liga and Champions League. He also became the best assistant and player of the Spanish Premier League season.


Besides, he also won the “Golden Boot” classification for the most effective player in European leagues. In the period under consideration, Messi scored a total of 54 goals and assisted 20 in 58 appearances for Barcelona and Argentina.


For many, the choice of Messi may come as a surprise. After all, Messi did not win a single international trophy. His team lost in the Champions League 2018/2019 in the quarterfinals, and in Copa America 2019 he reached only for bronze. Ronaldo, on the other hand, led Portugal to triumph in the first edition of the League of Nations.  Virgil van Dijk as Liverpool’s leader who won the Champions League in a great style.


Last year FIFA best player


Last year, Luka Modrić broke through a specific rule of Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi. Continuously since 2008, two football giants shared the prize and landed one the second or third place, if only one of them didn’t win in particular year. Both the Argentinean and Portuguese have won five prizes up to this point. They didn’t show up in London last year, which was considered a lack of respect for FIFA and its awards.

Traditionally, the two greats could not miss in 2019. However, the trophy could only reach one of them. For the sixth time, the best player was considered Argentinean, appearing in FC Barcelona. Messi from the stage thanked his family.




Other awards


Earlier, other prizes were awarded. Daniel Zsori scored the most beautiful goal of the year. 18-year-old Hungarian hit the in a match between VSC Debrecen and Ferencvaros Budapest and won the Ferenc Puskas prize.


The best coach of the year according to FIFA was Juergen Klopp, who won the Champions League with Liverpool. His opponents were Pep Guardiola, Manchester City manager and Tottenham Hotspur manager Mauricio Pochettino.


FIFA also awarded a special prize to the fan of the year. It was Silvia Grecco, a Brazilian who comments on matches for her blind son. She appeared at the gala with him to receive the award.


The FIFA Fair Play award went to the manager of Leeds United and Mateusz Klich. The Argentinian in April ordered his team to lose the goal. A few minutes earlier, Leads took the lead when Aston Villa’s football player lay injured. When Jonathan Kodija was lying on the pitch, guest players showed their opponents to shoot the ball.


The referee must stop the game only if the player suffers a head injury. Tyler Roberts, however, passed to Mateusz Klich, and the Polish midfielder with a passive attitude of the defenders scored. After that, some scuffle came out on the pitch. Eventually, Bielsa decided that his team must give away that goal. At his command, the players stood calmly, and Albert Adomah led to a draw. In the beginning, the experts chose the best teams of the year. Let’s look at all the awards.


FIFA Player of the Year: Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona, ​​Argentina)


FIFA Women Player of the Year: Megan Rapinoe (United States)


Most beautiful goal: Daniel Zsori (Hungary)


Best goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands)


Manager of the Year: Juergen Klopp (Liverpool FC)


FIFA Fair Play Award: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United


Women’s eleven years: Sari van Veenendaal – Lucy Bronze, Wendie Renard, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara – Amandine Henry, Julie Ertz, Marta, Rose Lavelle, Megan Rapinoe – Alex Morgan


Eleven of the year: Alisson Becker – De Ligt, Sergio Ramos, Van Dijk, Marcelo – Luka Modrić, De Jong, Hazard – Messi, Ronaldo, Mbappe


Best Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Liverpool FC, Brazil)


Female coach of the year: Jill Ellis (United States)




Last season was exciting, so no wonder that we have some surprises in the list of awards. We are waiting for what will happen in the following season.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.