Everything You Need To Know About New Cricket Rules in 2018

Recently, the ICC has made several changes to the game of cricket and also introduced many new rules pertaining to the game. Read on to find out about the new rules in cricket.

Cricket rules have met with a series of changes since its inception. These rules are necessary to maintain fairness in the game without losing its original essence. The changes are introduced by the International Cricket Council or the ICC and can vary from the bat’s dimension, changes to the DRS (Decision Review System), bail tethering, foul play to handling the balls. So here are the latest changes made in cricket by the ICC and these changes have been in effect from 28 September 2017.

Unlike the previous test cricket rules allowing each group to name four substitutes, the new rules allow six replacements.

The thickness of the bat must not surpass 67 mm and thickness of the edge cannot exceed 67 mm. Although there are no rules regarding the length and width of the bat umpires will check the bats to meet the new regulations.

Bails fly in the air after the stumps are broken. Many a time, these flying bails cause injuries to the fielders and wicketkeepers. The new rules by ICC affirm fastening the bails to the stumps as long as they do not meddle with their capacity to be ousted. This will undoubtedly prevent the injuries caused. But the execution of such a framework is at the circumspection of the host board.

An interval of two minutes was allowed on the fall of a wicket in Test cricket matches. New rules will change this to three minutes.

If an innings is abridged to less than ten overs, each bowler gets a quota of more than two overs.

Concerning boundaries and airborne fielders, a boundary will be given if:

  1.  The airborne fielder touching the ball does not exceed the boundary.
  2.  If the fielder comes in contact with any object grounded past the boundary including another fielder.

Regarding catches on the boundaries, it is legal only if

  1. Fielder catching the ball is grounded inside the boundary.
  2. Fielders last contact with the ground was inside the boundary before touching the ball.

It is a no-ball if

  1. The ball bounces more than once after the bowler delivers it and before it reaches the batsman’s popping crease (the line 4 meters in front of the stumps).
  2. The ball lands off the pitch.
  3. The fielder intercepts the delivery before the ball reaches the batsman. In this case, it will be a no-ball and a dead ball.

Previously any byes or leg byes scored from no-balls were counted as no-balls. The new rules state that it will be counted separately; one no-ball put against the bowler’s name, and the other extras will be scored as byes and leg byes.

A batsman will not be run out or stumped if:

  1.  The batsman grounds the bat/body part behind the crease while recovering the ground before the stumps are broken, and hence unintentionally losing contact with the bat.
  2.  Grounded part of the body becomes airborne (while diving or running) when the stumps are broken.

A batsman can be run out, stumped or caught even if that ball touches the fielder’s/wicketkeeper’s helmet.

Previously, a batsman could not be recalled once he/she leaves the field. New rules allow recalling the batsman before the delivery of the next ball.

There are several ways of dismissing a batsman one of which is ‘handled the ball’ dismissal. This type of dismissal arises if the batsman touches the ball with the hand intentionally. This type is dismissal is now shifted in the category of ‘obstructing-the-field’ post the implantation of new rules.

The new rules add several points as to what comprises an unfair paly. These are

  1.  The fielding side deliberately deceives or distracts the batsman, through mock fielding.
  2.  A deliberate no-ball by the bowler.
  3.  The batsman is taking a strike so far outside the crease that she/he is standing in the pitch’s protected area (just as bowlers flowing through on the protected area).

In cricket, there are several categories of offences starting from level 1 up to level 4. Offences coming under level 1 to 3 will be dealt with under the ICC Code of Conduct as usual. But any player caught in severe misconduct or any offence under the level 4 will be sent off for the rest of the match.

Regarding umpires reviews the following rules are set:

  1.  A team may refer to the TV umpire after the umpire’s decision. If the DRS shows ‘umpire’s call’ and the on-field decision stays unaltered, the team will not lose the review.
  2.  The teams will not have their two unsuccessful reviews replenished after the first 80 overs of the innings in a test since they did not lose a review. Hence, they will have just two unsuccessful reviews for the whole innings.
  3.  The DRS (Decision Review System) will be utilised in the T20 internationals too whereby teams will have one review per innings.
  4. If an umpire believes that conduct was unfair and if that conduct is not mentioned anywhere in the laws, the umpire is now given the power to deal with such cases with the introduction of catch-all laws.

These rules undoubtedly make sure that the game is fair on both the sides while also keeping control of the players conduct on the field. So here you have it – the new rules that were introduced in 2017 and set to affect the game in 2018.

Pradeep Batham

Pradeep is a passionate sports writer who loves expressing and sharing insights about the game via words. He is always excited to share the reviews, feedback and also the insights for cricket and football. He loves to watch these sports and his passion is to review and share the insights on Cricket for Apne11.

Pradeep Batham has 99 posts and counting. See all posts by Pradeep Batham

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.