Bangladesh Tour of South Africa, 2017: Details & Schedules

The Tigers are all set to take on the Proteas in South Africa in a multi-format tournament that commenced on 28th September, 2017. The tournament comprises of two test matches, three ODIs and two T20 internationals. The test series is going to be held first, after which there would be the ODI series followed by the T20 series.


Bangladesh has given their best for this tournament, the first one after nine years! South Africa miss their star captain AB De Villiers, but the team still has some experienced and well-set players. Here is the squad for both the teams:

The Tigers:

Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah. Mominul Hawue, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy.

The Proteas:

Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Makram, Morne Morkel, Duanne Olivier, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo and Kagiso Rabada.


The matches are well distributed across the month of October with the first test starting on 28th September. Here is the detailed schedule and match location:

  1. Test 1: The first test match started on 28th September and would end on 2nd October 2017. This match is being played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. Bangladesh opted to bowl first and would want to restrict South African batting order to as low as possible.

  2. Test 2: This match is going to be held at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein. Mangaung Oval is an excellent stadium and perfect for a good test match. The match would start on 6th October and end on 10th October 2017.

  3. 1st ODI: The first ODI would be held on 15th October 2017. This ODI is going to be held in Kimberley at the Diamond Oval Stadium. It’s a Sunday, so all the fans can easily watch this 50-50 tournament.

  4. 2nd ODI: This ODI is going to be held two days after the first match on 18th of October, 2017. The host of this match is Boland Park in Paarl city. Whoever wins the first ODI would like to bag a series win by winning this one as well.

  5. 3rd ODI: Sunday, 22nd October, 2017 would be the day of the finale of this ODI series. This match is going to be held in East London at Buffalo Park. If the series gets drawn in the end of the 2nd ODI, this match would be an interesting one to witness.

  6. 1st T20: T20s are always exciting and interesting and the first match is going to be played at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein. The match is going to be held on 26th October, 2017 and as the players must have already played a match at this ground in this tournament, it would be a well-planned match.

  7. 2nd T20: The final match of the tournament would be held on 29th October, 2017 in Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. The first match is also being played at this ground, which makes this the perfect end.

It’s a well spread out tournament and we hope to see lot of cricket for the entire month of October from these two teams.


Sarmad is a cricket enthusiast who loves to observe each match keenly. He is an editor and a regular contributor for Apne11. Apart from this, Sarmad loves to explore and read about Human Psychology and that is why he provides the prediction for upcoming matches too. He feels excited to share his review, prediction and feedback with sports lovers.

Sarmad has 248 posts and counting. See all posts by Sarmad

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.